top of page

Spotlight on Lana, Lana's Home Services

Updated: Jul 22, 2021

We have a new feature in our newsletter where we highlight young professionals and small businesses in Connecticut! Today, we’re introducing you to Lana, who is a woman of many talents! Lana is a housekeeper who owns Lana’s Home Services based out of New Haven. She has a background in early childhood education and is from Stamford originally. Learn more about her below and please consider supporting her small business.

 

How did you get involved in your current profession? My mother and grandmother were very diligent about keeping our home clean, so it was instilled in me from an early age the importance of it. I’ve been running my business for about two and a half years now. I no longer wanted to be in retail and being in the profession related to my studies was emotionally difficult, so I decided to start my own business. I love working for myself! What is the most difficult thing you’ve had to deal with? During the pandemic - being even more mindful. Obviously, you have to be even more detailed because of the virus! Also, losing clientele during the pandemic because of their own struggles. Outside of the pandemic, it can be tough in the winter because of the weather. I never cancel on my clients, but if there’s inclement weather, the clients will cancel. Promoting and building clientele are also challenging – even more so during the pandemic because everyone is at home so they’re not going to be out and about somewhere where they might see my flier or where I might be out promoting my business. What are your professional goals? Open an all-female mechanic shop! Women can get taken advantage of, and we’re always wondering if that’s what’s happening. I also really enjoy working on cars – it’s my passion! I got into it because I have a classic car and needed work done. I didn’t want to be overcharged and didn’t necessarily trust anyone else to work on my prized possession, so I taught myself. The rest is history! What is the greatest need you see in your community or state? Compassion – put your phone down, and give someone a hug! We need more of that now more than ever! What is one thing leaders in our state could do to improve your life or the lives of others? Encourage small businesses to open. Possibly create pathways to entrepreneurship and more education on how to open, run, and maintain a small business. If you could share one piece of advice with other young professionals, what would it be? Go for it! If you are looking for housekeeping services and want to support a local, female-owned small business, contact Lana’s Home Services on Facebook or by email: lanahomeservices@gmail.com


To nominate someone for the CTYP Spotlight, follow this link to our nomination form.

To nominate a business to be featured, follow this link to the nomination form.


In order to qualify, Spotlight candidates must live and/or work in CT and be 21-40 and businesses must be located in CT.

382 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page